365 Writing Prompts: Groundhog day

In the comedy “Groundhog Day” Bill Murray experienced the same day again and again, stuck in a time loop until he got the day”right.” What day would you choose to repeat until you get it right? Do you think it’s ever possible to get life “right?”

The day I’d choose to get stuck in a time loop,is when I first started learning to skate. I went day after day with the same result, I kept falling down.

I wonder if time stopped would I have learned to skate? I guess I’d still be there on the ice waiting for someone to pick me up.

It happened one day in Mount Royal Park, my husband took me there to learn to skate. There were skaters having a good time and there was I stuck on the ice,a little girl took pity on me she extended her hand to help me glide along with her, as usual I fell down, she came to help me stand up I could not, I thanked her and let her go.

https://sabethville.wordpress.com/2014/08/31/365-writing-pr…-groundhog-day/

 

4 thoughts on “365 Writing Prompts: Groundhog day

  1. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for this post about you learning to ice skate. I very much like the part about the little girl extending her hand toward you.

    I often think that we humans may be having our own repeating Groundhog Day (like in the movie) until we get some things right.

    All good wishes,

    robert

  2. I loved that move so much! And you know it is only now that I realised how deep the meaning is. When you cannot handle a situation, life keeps throwing it back at you until you learn to overcome it. I must watch the movie again.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.