Ghazal by Runa Laila: Baat karni mujhe mushkil posted and translated by Ranu

This is my favorite song. I’m posting it again for my day fifteen assignment.November 20, 2015

I never had this much trouble speaking like I have now

Just like your gathering is not the same as before

Who took away your patience and serenity today

You were never this restless dear heart

God knows how those eyes hypnotized me

I was never this docile before

Bewitching eyes  were always my enemy but

Never was I a victim to those eyes as I am now

Just as  your gathering now is  not the same as before

The singer of this ghazal is Runa Laila from Bangladesh, the lyrics  is by Bahadur Shah Zafar, the last Mughal Emperor of India.

Many thanks to Khurram Shafique for reading  my translation, and  his advice to make some changes.

For writing 101 assignment, day 15

………………………..:)

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Ghazal by Runa Laila: Baat karni mujhe mushkil posted and translated by Ranu

    • Dear Robert,
      I was especially interested to translate this ghazal, is because the singer is
      Runa Laila, there are others who sang it too, but I was partial because she is from my original country.
      Thank you for your comment and also for liking it.

  1. My dearest sister, thank you very much for sharing this. I have always liked this ghazal and it was a real joy to know that Runa Laila has also sung it – which I did not know. I am also very partial to Runa Laila because I remember her voice from my very early days, and it always has an effect on me which no other voice can have due to that reason.

    Your translation is brilliant. Since this is one of my favorite ghazals, I had also tried to translate it long ago but gave up. Therefore I am all the more impressed by your translation because this is better than I could have done – and I may say that I know it as fact since I attempted and gave up :).

    Congratulations and please share more of such ghazals.

    • My dearest brother,
      Thank you. Indira wants me to translate, Ranjish hi sahi.I wrote back and told her I will find the lyrics
      and try translating it. I will look for some more ghazals 🙂

Leave a Reply

