Just my writing: As others see us

The title of one of the books in our ,”Teaching English As A Foreign language,” was ,’As Others see us’. We had fun reading some of the things pointed out by foreign travelers to the city of London, England.

A gentleman  was visiting London from somewhere in Africa. On his first day in London, he went to see the famous tube station , “King’s Cross”, not long after he arrived, he noticed a train coming in , it made a moments stop the doors opened, hundreds of passengers came out with long umbrellas which to him looked like guns, he thought all those people were  pointing at him and were coming to attack him, without waiting even a second, he ran to the exit and disappeared.

On another occasion there was another traveler  visiting London for the first time. At 6 pm he walked out of his hotel to see what the  evenings in London’s residential area looked like.

He walked along a posh neighborhood street, as he was walking he noticed the drapes of  houses were drawn, the street was dark.

When asked about his impression of the city, he smiled and said,”I would call it a dead city.”

I wanted to make a comparison of London with Dhaka city.

Dhaka as you know is in Bangladesh, it’s the capital. I went a few years ago, I could not believe how different it was when I lived there.

Now the city is several times larger and there is no law and order anywhere, on the streets, neighborhood, shopping, one just has to pretend it will be okay, but is it?

You will find all kinds of vehicles moving on the most important roads, there is the rickshaw driver taking his time peddling with a passenger or two, the shepherd is going along the road with his herd of cattle. There are public buses, that look like giants driven by  lunatics . They have a man who tells everyone to move to be safe.

There are private cars, school buses, cabs, auto rickshaws , then there are pedestrians who probably pray all the time they are on the road so they are not killed.

I was appalled by the situation, we do have travelers who visit the city, I wonder what kind of impression they take home with them.

The best part is there are traffic lights, but  no one follows them, when it is red the vehicles  start moving. I ask the question, “why do they have lights if they are not going to obey?”

You’d be surprised what one of them said to me, “At least we have lights!”

“For what”? I asked.

He could not answer my question.

I sat and wondered, which is better a quiet residential area at 6 pm in the evening or the roads of a city with noisy bus drivers,all kinds of vehicles, from a rickshaw to a cab, to shepherds with their cattle and those innocent pedestrians, who cannot be sure  they will arrive home safely.

If I had to give my honest opinion I’d say, “No wonder we are one of the developing countries!”

……………………………………… 🙂

12 thoughts on “Just my writing: As others see us

  1. Pingback: I published my second post…. | All Our Writing

  2. Dear Ranu,

    This is a great post. Lots of descriptive items are in it. We are enjoying it the observations you note in it. Thanks!!

    All good wishes,

    robert

  3. My country too, dear! 🙂 You’re so lucky dear, you can apply your English well. And your English is truly awesome! 🙂
    Thank you for sharing about your city!

  4. My dearest sister,

    What you mentioned about Dhaka reminds me of Karachi. Yes, it is sad but I’m hopeful that it will change – for most of our “developing countries” :).

    Thank you, it was a pleasure reading this post.

  5. Haha …for what are the traffic lights. Good reply Ranu. Loved the descriptions. Chaos has its own character…I also live among chaos and it can get so frustrating.

    • I remember I was walking with my brother, there are no crosswalks there. I was afraid to cross to the other side the cars and buses kept coming, my brother said let’s go,
      I told him I was afraid, I then walked near where the traffic police was standing, he knew Why I was there, he stopped the traffic so I could cross.

  6. Pingback: MEN'S SEVENS TEAM THROUGH TO THIRD CONSECUTIVE CUP QUARTER-FINAL IN LONDON - Binary Option Evolution

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.