365 Writing Prompts: Bittersweet Memories

You receive a gift that is bittersweet and makes you nostalgic.What is it?

To me gifts are special,I received gifts from a variety of people. The ones I cherished most are those given to me by the kids I taught.

I found boys were quite thoughtful, one of the gifts I received was a bracelet from one of my students. I remember he brought it to my desk and waited to see my reaction. “It’s beautiful”, I said, “thank you.”

Kids are very thoughtful they have their own way of finding out their teacher’s likes and dislikes.Once I was asked by one of the boys, “What’s your favorite hockey team?”

I replied, “My favorite team is the Boston Bruins” he was a bit disappointed.

“But Miss they are not a Canadian team”, he said!

I told him, “it does not matter, most of the players are Canadian on that team.”

I guess he was relieved to hear my answer. One day he walked over to my desk and gave me a pin of the  Boston Bruin goalie. I was impressed.

All I could say was, “Thank you”,it seemed he didn’t hold a grudge against me for liking the ‘The Boston Bruin Hockey Team.”

………………………………. 🙂

2 thoughts on “365 Writing Prompts: Bittersweet Memories

  1. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for this post. Young people can be quite thoughtful. They seek an adult with whom to connect, a person to whom they may aspire to please, or to be like. These are very nice accounts of your students.

    All good wishes,

    robert

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.