Tagore song posted and translated by Ranu

দিনগুলি মোর সোনার খাঁচায় রইল না-      My golden days have ended.
সেই-যে আমার নানা রঙের দিনগুলি।       They were my most colorful days.
কান্নাহাসির বাঁধন তারা সইল না-             They could not bear my bond of laughter and sorrow-
সেই-যে আমার নানা রঙের দিনগুলি।।      They were my most happy days.
আমার প্রাণের গানের ভাষা                        I had hoped they’d learn the songs of my heart.
শিখবে তারা ছিল আশা-
উড়ে গেল, সকল কথা কইল না-                 those hopes have vanished.
সেই-যে আমার নানা রঙের দিনগুলি।।       They were my most happy days.
স্বপন দেখি, যেন তারা কার আশে               I dream as if they are moving around my
ফেরে আমার ভাঙা খাঁচার চার পাশে-          broken home hoping to see my happy days.
সেই-যে আমার নানা রঙের দিনগুলি।।
এত বেদন হয় কি ফাঁকি।                            How can so much pain be deceit.
ওরা কি সব ছায়ার পাখি।                         Are they then  shadows of birds?
আকাশ-পারে কিছুই কি গো বইল না-         couldn’t any of my days be rescued.
সেই-যে আমার নানা রঙের দিনগুলি।।     They were my most happy days.

 

6 thoughts on “Tagore song posted and translated by Ranu

  1. My dearest sister,

    Thank you for sharing this. In particular I liked the emotional honesty of the line, “How can so much pain be deceit.” The Bengali script looks beautiful at the side of the translation 🙂

    • Thank you my dearest brother. When I copy and paste the Bengali script, I save time,
      I don’t have to write and keep turning the page, this way I read it and translate it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

