Daily Prompt: Going obsolete

pad2015-s1.png (308×60)

Of all the technologies that have gone extinct in your lifetime, which one do you miss the most?

I miss the gramophone the most. We had a whole bunch of records, we the siblings used to sit in a room, one of us would handle changing the records, and the rest of us would sit and listen.If there was  one song  we did not like we’d request the brother in charge to change it.

We did not need electricity but rolled the handle a few times to make it work. The image I have posted is not quite the same as the one we had, but it was something like it.

Now with technology a gramophone is no longer something people have, but I miss it.

 

 

 

Wikipedia image

Gramophone.jpg (400×469)

…………………………………… 🙂

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Going obsolete

  1. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for sharing this post. What a nice memory, that is, of the gramophone. It brings to mind other memories of how we used to listen to music.

    All good wishes,

    robert

  2. My dearest sister,

    I loved gramophone and my regret was that it had already been replaced by tape recorders by the time I developed an interest in music. Still the gramophone records were around, and were treasured by collector shops, who usually copied them on to an audio cassette for a fee. Thanks for this trip down the lane of nostalgia 🙂

    • I remember we had stacks of records,my youngest brother
      loved to get the ones we liked. I never knew how he could find the
      right one, at the time he didn’t even learn to read. Thank
      you my dearest brother for your comment.:)

Leave a Reply

