Tagore Song : Shandhya holo go o ma, singer Hemanta , posted and translated by Ranu

 

I have copied the male and female voices to show how it sounds.

I found this song this morning, I had to listen to it a few times to figure out the lyrics. It’s a song that evokes a melancholic mood.

This is how it begins:

Oh mother it is evening

It’s evening hold me

In this deep darkness

Let  your tenderness

Drown and cool me

It’s evening mother

Take it back, take it back

Everything is lost somewhere

Let this scattered life

Gather in your darkness

It’s evening mother

I don’t want my life to be visible

Anywhere outside you

Let your night unite

My  life’s beam of light

Surround me and kiss me

Only you, only you

Take whatever is on my mind

Oh mother make it yours and

carry it away!

…………………………….. 🙂

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Tagore Song : Shandhya holo go o ma, singer Hemanta , posted and translated by Ranu

  1. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for sharing this post with us. We like very much the tender tone toward the mother. So sweet.

    All good wishes,

    robert

  2. My dearest sister,

    This is very touching indeed: “Let this scattered life / Gather in your darkness”. Thanks for translating this and sharing the two videos.

    • The first one is Hemant Kumar’s voice the other singer is a female whose name I don’t know.
      I copied both to see whose voice sounds better in this song.Selina said Mom,”this song will suit a male’s voice.”
      The female singer’s enunciation of the lyrics was clearer than Hemant Kumar’s,which helped me write the lyrics.
      What do you think my dearest brother? 🙂

Leave a Reply

