Daily Prompt: Three Coins in the Fountain

pad2015-s1.png (308×60)

Have you ever tossed a coin or two into a fountain and made a wish? Did it come true?

The opportunity of  tossing coins into a fountain failed to present itself in my case. But I had the privilege of visiting a place in Chittagong ,Bangladesh with my mother.

This was a shrine of a famous saint. There was a garden of trees with dead branches but were decked with amazing crimson red threads. I was told thousands of people visit here, they are given crimson pieces of thread to tie around one of the branches and make a wish.

Next step was to go back and untie the thread if their wish is fulfilled.  I asked my mom, ‘how will I identify the thread I tied?”

“You don’t have to”she said, “you untie any thread.”

This was the time when I had just  written my high school exam and was afraid of failing. My mom handed me a piece of thread and asked me to make a wish.Of course I made a wish to pass my exam.

Yes you are right I made a  wish to pass my exam and luckily I was successful.. Whether I went back to untie one thread I cannot recall!

………………………………….. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Three Coins in the Fountain

  1. My dearest sister,

    This is a delightful anecdote – and the way you have written it. It also feels good to be the first to post the comment on a post! 🙂

  2. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for sharing with us this post. I liked reading about your traveling to Chittagong, Bangladesh, the shrine, the tree, and the crimson threads.

    All good wishes,

    robert

Leave a Reply

