Daily Prompt: Middle Seat

pad2015-s1.png (308×60)

It turns out your neighbor on the plane/bus/train(or the person sitting at the next table at the coffee shop)is a very chatty tourist.Do you try to switch seats, go for a non-committal brief small talk, or make this person your new best friend?

Only recently I was traveling to Montreal with my daughter, my seat was in the middle, my daughter took the aisle seat, the occupant of the window seat hadn’t arrived yet. I was hoping it would stay vacant, squeezing herself in the aisle was the occupant, there was hardly any room for me to stand to let her in. I could only apologize and say, ” I’m Sorry, there is no room for me  to stand, can you hop on over?”

She seemed a delightful person, she replied, “yes I can.”

I thought she will say something, from the time she sat down which was two and a half hours, till the time the plane landed, she stayed quiet. Occasionally I saw her taking pictures of what she could see outside,which didn’t seem much.

I didn’t have to change my seat, I was happy I didn’t have to, the airline charges $30.00 dollars if the passengers want to change seats. I know because we had to pay that amount  they put us far away from each other,even though we bought the tickets at the same time, not separately, my daughter bought both the tickets.

……………………………… 🙂

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Middle Seat

  1. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for sharing this post of you sitting beside this nice lady. It’s fun to travel and meet all kinds of new people, even if they sit quietly to themselves :).

    All good wishes,

    robert

Leave a Reply

