Daily Prompt: Safety First

pad2015-s1.png (308×60)

Share the story of a time when you felt unsafe.

There are a lot of things that made me feel unsafe. I will relate one story here where I was extremely scared while traveling to Dhaka in Bangladesh, from my home town Comilla. I was traveling by train, it was three-thirty in the morning. There were other passengers with their family in the same compartment. I didn’t know them.

While the train was moving, a man suddenly showed up outside our compartment. He tried to open the door but couldn’t.

I was scared because of his looks,he had what is known as orafacial cleft . It’s a condition where the opening in the upper lift extends into the nose.It is due to tissues of the face not properly joined together during development.It is a type of a birth defect.

At that time I never knew why he looked like that ,  I was terrified. He remained standing outside our door in the moving train, I felt unsafe I thought he’d open the door and come in. I noticed the other passengers didn’t show any sign of fear.

I prayed continuously so he’d move away from our door. He did and I did not see him again.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Safety First

  1. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for sharing this account of you feeling fear. Fear can trigger our instincts. This is good, as we can then mobilize to take action.

    All good wishes,

    robert

    • Dear Robert,
      Yes in some cases one can mobilize. In my case I was too scared
      to take any kind of action, but prayed that the cause of my fear
      will disappear. I felt, God alone can help me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

