Writing 101,Day Seven: Let Social media inspire you

Assignment: Today write a response to the following tweet.

You study, study, study, and at the end, you are lucky enough to discover the greatest gift of education: that you know nothing at all.

I felt the same when I completed my education degree, I got the job because of the document which said I successfully completed the course.

While teaching in the classroom I felt I knew nothing, all the courses I took were not helping me in the classroom.

I actually started  learning when I was in the classroom with the kids.

When I thought through it dawned on me, I had to study because by doing so, I was gaining experience in handling situations, ones I never faced before.

In my second year of teaching, I was in charge of teaching forty-two kids in the second grade. I was told by one of the kids I was their sixth teacher in six months.

It should have frightened me, like Julie Andrews, who said: what’s wrong with the children?

I stood in front of those little tikes unmoved by this announcement. The word cheeky came to mind, but since it was my first day; I let it go to see who comes up a winner in this competition , me or the forty-two sharp-minded kids?

I did not have to wait too long, next day as soon as the recess bell rung, it didn’t even take forty-two seconds for them to disappear from the classroom.

This experience did not scare me, it certainly made me think. I walked out of the classroom, went to the verandah to see where these hooligans were hanging out.

My thoughts were interrupted by the gym teacher, a fine and knowledgeable man who warned me these are the worst children in the whole school. I took all this information  and waited for the following day.

The day had come for me to take some action, the kids were working on the task I gave them while I looked at my watch to see the time, it was 10.10 AM, the bell for recess would ring after five minutes . I promptly went to the door and locked it.

I turned around and saw the kids looking at me, I told them: if anyone stands up before I tell them to, there will be no recess for you.

There was pin-drop silence, I further announced they will have to stand in a line and wait for me to tell them to walk out of the classroom.

They did as I told them, after this incidence I never had any problems with them. When they were asked what kind of a teacher I was, “she’s the best teacher we ever had.” they said.

In my courses I didn’t learn anything about discipline. In real life I did. My mom had twelve of us, and out of them eight were boys, my mom was strict and my brothers were afraid to disobey her. I learned early on from my mother how to discipline children.

I put this knowledge into practice when my turn came and never had problems teaching kids. Kids are the sweetest human beings on this earth, they understand a lot.

All those hours, days,months and years of learning, provided me with the experience I gathered to use my education wisely.

……………………………:)

 

4 thoughts on “Writing 101,Day Seven: Let Social media inspire you

  1. Dear Ranu,

    I like this post a lot. You write very clearly about your personal experiences, your challenges, and how you overcame them.

    It’s so nice to read of such triumph in life. You show so well that dedication pays off :).

    All good wishes,

    robert

Leave a Reply

