Writing 101,Day 7: Beloved

Today’s assignment: Beloved

I have translated the following song which helps to understand, how one feels when one is separated from his/her beloved.

I think of my beloved a lot,

In the dark days of my sorrow,

I light up and extinguish my

Love’s lamp, hoping to feel better tomorrow.

It does not work

For every step I hear,

Awakens the memory of my dear,

The roads cannot help but laugh

That my heart still beats for my beloved.

Often I am misled into thinking

He is coming towards me smiling

But it is only my imagination.

My memory of him has not faded ,

There is a burning in my heart

The tears  flow without stopping,

Who knows what others think.

That I have not forgotten him

But my cries suddenly turn into laughter,

When I see him smiling in my thoughts.

The separation from him

Feels  as if there is no life in me

The lamp  continues to burn

There is no brightness.

I try  very hard,

But I am unable to appease my heart,

I  play various  tunes and  sing a variety of  songs,

It is  not enough  to console my heart!

 

I felt I could not write a better poem than this song. Pardon me for taking this route, I feel I have made some contribution by translating a song which is in a language other than my own.

Thank you all. 🙂

 

15 thoughts on “Writing 101,Day 7: Beloved

  1. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you so much for this translation.

    “The separation from him

    Feels as if there is no life in me”

    So very nice.

    All good wishes,

    robert

    • Dear Vijaya,
      I apologize for forgetting to thank you for this wonderful prompt.
      Thank you for your comment, I’m pleased to know what you thought of it.
      I come from a Bengali background, I could not resist the temptation
      to translate an Urdu song. The lyrics are so awesome and the singer is the best. 🙂

Leave a Reply

