Book Review: Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand

Atlas Shrugged is a book I finished reading yesterday. I started reading it more than a week ago. I entered the challenge of reading 25 books this year.

The above was my second book. It has 1168 pages, there are more than 588 words on each side. The spaces between the lines are very narrow, as a result I read the same line twice. You could say it’s my mistake and not the author’s .

I found there was a lot of repetition and there were long speeches in the book which were almost more than ten pages. ย No one recommended this book to me I heard about the writer and was curious. I bought the book and felt the only way I’ll make myself read it was ย if I enter a challenge.

Now that I’ve finally read the book, I’d be honest and admit I will never read a book which took so much of my time, in return I learned very little from it.

…………………………. ๐Ÿ™‚

14 thoughts on “Book Review: Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand

    • I knew when I wrote my comment I was treading in dangerous waters and that someone would come up and prove me wrong.
      It’s only my opinion, I’m glad you like it. I do not know if it will grow on me , I’m glad I was able to continue reading it till the end. ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. I read “Atlas” many many years ago, It seemed every single friend I had was on an Ayn Rand kick so I decided to read it. Although Dagny Taggart and John Galt are memorable. That was about it. I found it to be long-winded and pretentious. But then again, I’m so scholar….

    • The problem I had reading “Atlas Shrugged” I found the print too small, there were too many words on a page and someone seemed to have scrimped on spacing.
      Besides the long speeches were too much. I knew what she meant. I’m glad I was able to finish reading it. Thank you for your comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I forgot to add–if you are really looking for a great read or two, might I suggest my two favorite books of all time: “Let The Great World Spin” and “A Confederacy of Dunces”.

    • Catherine thank you for your recommendation. Right now I’m reading Paulo Coelho’s book. I already have a few books I’m planning to read. I need to read 25 books, I have that number, if I have time, I’ll find the books you’ve recommended. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

