Daily Prompts: Money for Nothing

pod-2016-sm.png (308×60)

Teachers_2016_intertitle.png (653×366)

 

If you’re like most of us, you need to earn money by working for a living. Describe your ultimate job. If you’re in your dream job, tell us about it_ what is it that you love ? What fulfills you? If you’re not in your dream job, describe for us what your ultimate would be?

I agree I’m like most , I need to earn money by working for a living.  I knew from the outset, I wanted to be an elementary teacher. To reach my goal, I registered in a college and university. After completing a  university degree, I knew I had to have an education degree to fulfill my dream of teaching  young kids.

With this thought on my mind I registered for an education degree. I completed this course, I applied for a job and was lucky to get one. This was a job I always wanted, but the environment wasn’t favorable. I looked for a similar job in the big city. I was able to get one, but it was a residential school and the system of teaching was not the same. I tried to get assistance from one of my experienced colleagues’, she always changed the subject. When a week passed I learned no one in the school would tell me anything. I had to learn by watching or observing.

It took me a month to know the difference between a regular school or ( a day school) and residential school.

I wanted to think of this job as one I always desired, soon reality kicked in, the atmosphere in the school disappointed me. I could not work in a place where the Headmaster ridiculed teachers in the presence of students. How can the teachers expect respect from the students, if the Headmaster refuses to respect them.

After ten days I made up my mind to quit, I wrote a resignation letter and handed it to the headmaster, he was shocked to read it and could not understand why I wanted to resign. I really wanted to tell him the reason, but words stuck in my lip and I could not leave the job.

It happened after two years. Thankfully I received a scholarship, I handed my resignation letter second time, I had a genuine reason to leave. By then the headmaster changed but he too followed the same principle of not accepting my resignation, this time he said, “why don’t you wait a couple of years, we will send you.”

I wish I could tell him then, “A bird in hand is worth two in the bush.”

I didn’t, knowing any wrong step by me might kill my prospect of going to London,he had the power to influence the authorities to  withdraw my scholarship, this is what I was afraid of. Despite the obstacles put in my path, eventually I was able to go to London to study.

When I went back, I did not go back to teach in  the same school.

After two years I successfully got a  job of teaching in an elementary school. The principal was a  nice man who did not interfere with teachers, we were free to teach, the principal respected us. It was a job I always wanted!

………………………………….. 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompts: Money for Nothing

  1. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for sharing this post with us. Our teachers, everywhere, are so very vital to the welfare of our children. Their emotional and spiritual selves benefit, or not, by the influence of teachers.

    Thank you for being a teacher with such passion :-).

    All good wishes,

    robert

  2. I think the prompt itself is interesting. Is there really such a thing as a dream job? I thinks its the one we think about until we are doing it.
    My dream job was being a mother – it is the most rewarding but also most difficult job in the world.

    • Yes I agree the job of a mother is the most difficult one in the world. Sometimes I think of my mother, my dad passed away when were really young, so young we didn’t realize death was permanent. My mother raised us all by herself, we didn’t appreciate her then, now we know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

