Daily Prompts: The Road Less Traveled

pod-2016-sm.png (308×60)

Pinpoint a moment in your past where you had to make a big decision. Write about that other alternate life that could have unfolded.

After I was back from, London, I saw an ad in the newspaper about a teaching job in a city literally thousands of miles away from my home. I thought about it for a few moments, and decided to apply.

A few days later I received a letter for an interview, in my old school. On the appointed day I arrived at the place of interview. I saw a list of interviewees, there were six of us, among them was my age old rival since my college and university days. I ignored the thought of meeting her, sat on a chair and waited for my turn.

I was the first one called.The Principal was a nice lady, she asked me a few questions and gave me the job on the spot. I told her I had to find out from my mom if going away so far away in an unknown place was okay.

I asked my mom, who  pointed at my elder sister, thought she’d know better. When I asked  my sister she  said, ,”Ranu it’s too far away, do you think you should take the job?”

Already I wasn’t sure I wanted the job, her words helped me make my decision. I wrote  the principal about my decision to refuse the job, mainly because it was too far away,I wasn’t familiar with the city, it was better for me to look for a job in a city closer to my home.

As far as I could see I probably would have taken the job, stayed in the unknown city no more than a couple of months, and eventually I’d   quit the job and be back in my familiar surrounding.

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, 🙂

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompts: The Road Less Traveled

  1. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for sharing this with us. These kinds of decisions (e.g., to take a job or not) are often quite difficult. Your description seems like you made a wise decision.

    All good wishes,

    robert

Leave a Reply

