Daily Prompts : Contrast

pod-2016-sm.png (308×60)

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

When I look at my family, i.e my siblings to be more specific brothers and sisters. We are product of our parents, yet it’s mind boggling to realize how different we are.

The only similarity is our looks, by it one can guess we are related. Our feelings, our actions are different from each other and also we are not like our parents.

I lost my father at a very young age therefore I do not have much to go on regarding his feelings, actions, the way he looked at the world around him and of course his own children. Had he been alive to see who we grew up to be, he’d most certainly be disappointed.

My dad was raised in a village, where people were simple and innocent in his time. He was a brilliant student, his half-brother noticed it, to help him reach his potential, he brought him to the town where he worked.

My dad’s half brother was pleased to watch his little half brother go up the ladder of success.

In contrast we did not inherit the  genes of our uncle, at least some of us. We are more selfish, we believe we should look after ourselves and forget about the other siblings.

This is all about how we are as persons.

Then there are people of various background, white, brown, black, yellow etc. It’s getting better as the world is getting smaller and people are traveling more. We are used to see hear different people, we are no longer afraid to mingle with different races.

I remember once I was in one of  London, England’s tube stations. As the train came in I got on, there were a group of people also traveling with me. One of them came forward to talk to me , she said they were from Australia, in the middle of our conversation she noticed some Africans coming in, she gave them a strange look, and said, ” My who are these people? The Brits are very tolerant . Our government  wouldn’t allow these people to come in to our country.”

I sat there wondering, when is she going to ask me, how I managed to stay in England, I wasn’t white.

I know discrimination exists in the animal kingdom. I wonder about plants, flowers and other species?

……………………………………… 🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompts : Contrast

  1. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for sharing with us this wonderful post. I like how you explored in different directions…you past, your family, your father, and the great diversity of people.

    All good wishes,

    robert

Leave a Reply

