daily Prompt: BREATH

pod-2016-sm.png (308×60)

Today’s Prompt: Breath

It’s quite cold today, so much so I can see my breath. I would have liked it better if I didn’t experience this seeing my breath. But nature has its own reason, why it doesn’t want us to feel too warm in April.

We speak of the weather too much, I’d leave the weather alone and write about a more interesting subject.

It’s better to weave a different story using the prompt in a more positive way.

I’m writing about a  pretty girl , whom I taught in school. Her presence in my class  seemed like a  breath of fresh air.

This story begins with Heather. She was one of the kids I taught. She had the most pleasant disposition compared with others  I came into contact with. At only nine years of age she had the God given gift of making everyone around her happy. She possessed all the qualities of a trained young lady, she was witty, intelligent,mannerly and a very eager and a good student. I always wondered what she’d be like when she was older.

She did not disappoint me, she visited me  one snowy morning to offer help to clear my driveway. At first I didn’t recognize her, she reminded me, she was in my class in grade four. I was delighted, she lived across the street from us. I was told she’d finished her degree in Music, and was interested to register in the faculty of medicine.

I lost touch with her and sometimes wonder if she was selected to study medicine. May be someday out of nowhere she’d arrive at my doorstep with her stethoscope around her  neck,  asking me do I still want to take piano lessons from her!

…………………………………….. 🙂

2 thoughts on “daily Prompt: BREATH

  1. Dear Ranu,

    What a lovely post about your former student, Heather. I’m sure you were an early positive influence on her which she very likely remembers :).

    All good wishes,

    robert

Leave a Reply

