Daily Prompt: SCARS

pod-2016-sm.png (308×60)

Today’s Prompt: SCARS

In our lives it’s difficult to be free of scars. I’ve gotten all types of scars while doing my work around the kitchen. One day I was cooking chicken accidentally  my hand came into contact with the edge of the saucepan, it was hardly a few seconds, but that part of my hand turned red and within a short time turned black. It took a while for the scar to disappear, I quickly forgot the incidence except when my friend asked, “what happened to your hand?”

I’d then have to relate the story of my scar which I said, “I was careless, this is how I burned my hand.”

You can forget physical scars after a while, but mental scars seem to bother me much longer. I wish I could turn my back and say, she/he is crazy, it doesn’t bother me. I’m very sensitive, I never seem to forget when someone hurts my feelings.

I remember in college there was an incident where instead of telling the girl off I stayed quiet, my friend asked me why did I not react, when I said I didn’t want to. She looked at me and said, “It’s because you don’t have a backbone!”

Those words hurt me so much I decided not to talk to her any more.

Mental scars such as cruelty stays in my mind longer than physical scars!

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: SCARS

  1. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for sharing this nice post. It is so very true that lasting scars are often the kind in which feelings are wounded.

    It is no wonder that a sword is similar in shape to the tongue.

    All good wishes,

    robert

  2. Awhh that’s very true. Though it’s a very good thing to heal yourself from past wounds. It actually helps and makes you feel more free. ❤️ thank you for sharing your story as always. Being sensitive isn’t easy, but definitely a beautiful gift. And due to your gift of sensitivity we always get to read your beautiful posts.

Leave a Reply

