This limerick is for the swan mother, who protected her cygnets from me, even though I wouldn’t have hurt them

 

Swan_with_nine_cygnets_3.jpg (3069×1378)

Wikipedia image

Mother Swan

I met Mother swan on my way home

she with her cygnets ready to roam.

The moment  I was in view,

she impatiently  turned blue,

She stretched her neck down and drove me home.

…………………………………… 🙂

The above is a true story, I was eight years old, going home after school. When I saw the swan with her cygnets, I had an eerie feeling, before I could go further she lowered her long neck and ran towards me, I was scared, walked backward, and took a different route home. I felt although not human, the Swan showed me how protective she is of her cygnets, just like a human mother. 🙂

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “This limerick is for the swan mother, who protected her cygnets from me, even though I wouldn’t have hurt them

  1. Dear Ranu,

    This is a story which impacts me as both beautiful and powerful. What a lovely way to point to the sanctity of mothers.

    All good wishes,

    robert

  2. My dearest sister,

    I marvel at your ability to turn a real experience into a beautiful limerick. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Dear Rashmi,
      Thank you. I remember taking a short cut home from school, it was a small neighborhood,
      I was walking in my carefree manner, suddenly I saw a huge white swan with its cygnets,
      I don’t know why I got scared and stopped walking. The swan must have thought I might hurt its little
      ones, immediately it lowered its long neck and was running towards me. I got such a fright, I walked
      backward, turned around and ran to the road and went home. 🙂

      • The same thing happened to my son on his way back from the playground last week. He was mighty upset with the bird. Had to explain to him that the bird was only protecting it’s little ones!

Leave a Reply

