Daily Post : Learning, https://sabethville.wordpress.com/tag/ making bread/

Discover WP,

Banana_bread_in_loaf_pan.jpg (218×142)

Wikipedia Image

Learning is something which  continues until one hits the grave, one can learn from even a little kid.

My first learning experience when I came to Gander, Newfoundland, was how can I learn to make bread. Why did I of all the things would want to learn how to make bread, buy it from the super market they’d  say. If it was as easy as that why would I?

Every time I went to buy bread, I found they were moldy, it wasn’t something I’d care to buy. I came home checked ,”Better Homes and Gardens cookbook,” I found a recipe for making bread, my new friend discouraged me, ‘she said, don’t chaman, I tried twice and my loaves came out from the oven as hard as brick.’

My husband agreed and thought maybe we shouldn’t eat bread. I wasn’t going to give up I said, “If they turn out like loaves of brick, I’d give up, but let me try.”

I went ahead opened my cookbook, found the recipe and was ready to try making a few loaves of bread. Since I was new at this, I felt there are too many stages, like soften the yeast in lukewarm water, measure x number of cups of water mix with milk powder, mix the yeast with  flour, slowly add water until the flour and and yeast are combined, then knead until the dough is soft and elastic, place the dough in a large bowl, cover and let it rise  when the dough doubles punch it down, let it rise for an hour.After the hour assuming it has risen enough punch it down and divide the dough into portions, place them in  greased pans, let them rise again, after this place the pans in a preheated oven 350 degrees Fahrenheit, for thirty five minutes, after the first few minutes check to make sure it’s not too brown, when it’s light brown cover with pieces of aluminum foil to prevent burning. After thirty five minutes take the loaves out and brush them with butter.

I went through all these stages my loaves came out good enough to eat. I was pleased I won’t have to eat moldy bread.

………………………………………… 🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “Daily Post : Learning, https://sabethville.wordpress.com/tag/ making bread/

  1. Dear Ranu,

    After reading your nice post, I’m left hungry for fresh, warm bread! Being able to make bread is a very nice talent :).

    All good wishes,

    robert

    • Dear Robert,
      Thank you, it’s not difficult to make, it requires patience, to go through the stages,
      you can easily make it if you have time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

