Daily Prompt: Blank

In response to today’s one-word prompt: Blank

I have a habit of going to bed early, it doesn’t matter if I have work to complete I still  leave it for next day. I’m so conditioned even  if I’m only  half hour late, I stay awake the whole night.

In the university residence where I stayed to complete my degree I shared my room with a  senior student. She noticed I was always going to bed at 10 pm. One evening she said, “Chaman, I’d like to speak to you.”

“About what,”  I said?

She said, “you know this is exam time, you go to sleep too early you must stay awake longer, all your classmates are studying when you are asleep.”

“I don’t care,” I said, “I need my sleep.”

“You must stay up longer, or your classmates would do better than you in the exams,” she said.

Will do better than me these words caught my attention, and I stayed up till 1:30 am that night.

In the morning I had my third exam, I felt a bit queasy but hoped it would be better gradually before I go to the exam hall. Well nothing changed. The invigilator came in and delivered the question papers. I looked at mine I felt  fuzzy, I was alarmed when I read the questions, it seemed I knew nothing. I had studied hard all year why can’t I remember anything.

I stayed quiet for a few moments, my mind was still totally BLANK, I took few more moments, then read the questions one at a time, I started feeling better, I attempted one question at a time, it felt my brain was coming alive. I was able to complete my exam. I realized then, I must not listen to anyone where my health is concerned. I know what works for me.

I told my roommate in future she must never interfere with my sleeping pattern, If I was unable to finish my exam that day, I would’ve had  to repeat the year. She did not bother me after this incidence.

…………………………………. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Blank

  1. Dear Ranu,

    Like you, I am no good the following day if I’ve had insufficient sleep!

    All good wishes,

    robert

Leave a Reply

