#Everyday Inspiration, Day Eighteen: A Series of Anecdotes

Day Eighteen: Compose a Series of Anecdotes

Gander, Newfoundland: It is a small town we moved to from Montreal, my husband got a job as an Ophthalmologist.  He made the move because he thought we were only going to live there for two years.  He needed two more years to get his Canadian citizenship, which was a requirement in the province of Quebec, if the individual wanted to start private practice His boss encouraged him because he said, ” In two years I will retire, and you can come back and take over my Ophthalmology practice. My hubby was delighted and so was I.

Next year we went to Montreal for a trip, I saw my husband’s boss, we had a long chat mostly my husband and he. I was the listener.

Two days later we went to Chicago for three weeks, I saw a few of my husband’s friends, among them was a very jovial Angie Dizzone, she was a great person to hang out with. She invited us to dinner of Meat Balls and Spaghetti Italian Style, Angie was an Italian and it was her favorite dish, I must admit she was a great cook and an amusing person.

In the evening we went to visit Auntie Jean, an American, she was very fond of my husband, they got connected on a Thanksgiving Day, from then on my husband always visited her, going back to the evening Aunt Jeanie had a friend who was an awesome singer, she was invited too, her name  was Juliette a tall friendly lady, Angie Dizzone also came  for a visit. Aunt Jeanie requested Juliette to sing a song, since it was Christmas Season,Juliette sang, ‘O Holy Night,’ her voice was mesmerizing. We were all quiet, suddenly, Angie yelled out, “She don’t need a Mike,” we started laughing.

Three weeks in Chicago seemed like a dream, before we left the big city we went to visit our American Friend Jean Finley once more. After the visit, we were on our way back to Gander by Air Canada, we had a stopover in Montreal. We always stayed with our friends, Dilruba and Raqib Chowdhury. The evening we arrived, Dilruba took me aside and said, “have you heard the news?”

“What news,” I said.

“Dr. Duclos( my husband’s boss) passed away.”

I was speechless, we had seen him only two and a half weeks ago, how could he die?

Apparently Dr. Duclos and his sister went to New Brunswick to visit their friends. On their way back Dr. Duclos  was driving his  car, suddenly it was hit by an oncoming vehicle, Dr.Duclos died instantly, his sister survived.

After this news my husband was broken-hearted, his plan to go back to Montreal was put on hold.

The following year my husband had a massive heart attack, this time my husband gave up the idea of going  back to Montreal for good, with a sickness like that it was not advisable to go for private practice in an area where there would be a lot stress.

Which brings to mind: “Man proposes, God disposes.”

……………………………………………….. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “#Everyday Inspiration, Day Eighteen: A Series of Anecdotes

  1. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for this nice post. You do an excellent job at bringing to life for the reader the happenings in your life. I like a lot the final quote you share.

    All good wishes,

    robert

    • Dear Robert,
      Thank you, we were supposed to string a few anecdotes, it had to relate
      to each other, in the beginning I couldn’t think what I could write,
      then I realized our move from Montreal to Gander, could be something
      I could write about.:)

Leave a Reply

