The Daily post: Transformation

In response to daily post’s one-word prompt :Transformation

I hate to write this, but I like reading books, somehow I buy books on impulse I read the first few pages something refuses to click my brain, I put it down, I tell myself I’ll read it later. There are quite a few lined up for me to read.

Then with the new year 2016 came the,’Goodreads Challenge, ‘ I was excited I pledged to read twenty-five books. I started on January 4th and completed reading all twenty-five books on 3rd May 2016. My transformation was complete. I no longer buy books and leave them on my shelf I actually read them, all I needed was a challenge to knock my door and I was a changed person.

Wait a minute is this really true, to test myself I started reading the next book which is #26, J.K.Rowlings , Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, it took me eight days to finish it. It didn’t seem right, when I was reading books to meet the challenge, maximum time I spent was three or four days. I thought may be I gave myself some rest.

I then picked up, ‘The Last Of The Mohicans,’  this one took me seventeen days to finish. I was not sure why I took so long, I blamed my toothache for taking so long, I was convinced that has to be the reason.

My book #28 is, “Bird by Bird,” it only has 237 pages, I’ve already spent 6 days and I haven’t finished it, I have 86 pages left. This change I thought in me is only temporary. Maybe if I say this is another challenge, I’ll read faster. Part of me thinks it’s a good idea, but the other part doesn’t quite buy it.

I don’t think I really changed. I’m back again to my old self i.e, buying books and leaving them on the shelf to read later, just like a procrastinator!

…………………………………… 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Daily post: Transformation

  1. Dear Ranu,

    It is impressive that you’re able to read so many books.

    In reference to books made into movies, I like a lot “The Last of the Mohicans.” Part of the movie was filmed in my area.

    All good wishes,

    robert

    • Dear Robert,
      Thank you for your nice comment.I was trying to think have I really changed or that challenge has something to do with it.
      Otherwise why am I taking so long to read the other books? 🙂

  2. C. S. Lewis claimed that when one starts to read a book, if it doesn’t grab the reader within thirty pages, then now is not the time to read it. I don’t know that I follow this advice, but it sounds good (doesn’t it?). I’ve used Bird by Bird with college students who seem to like it. It sounds to me as if you’re reading thoroughly. I don’t know how to assess speed. I read very slowly, and yet I’ve taught literature. Maybe that was a foolish choice.

    I hope your toothache is better.

    • Thank you, I must admit, ‘Bird for Bird,’ was a bit interesting in the beginning, afterwards I had too much of how to write or whatever she’s trying to sell.
      In this case I sort of agree with C.S. Lewis, now is not the time to read it. I read whenever I think, it’s a good time. It doesn’t seem there is one . My toothache is gone, now I’m trying to think how did I lose the urge to read. I know who’s the culprit, it was George Orwell’s 1984, I could not wait to finish it. I did not like it. It was the last book I had to read for the challenge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

