The Daily Post : Simplicity

In response to daily post’s one-word prompt : Simplicity

This prompt i.e., “Simplicity,” comes at a time when I wonder if this word has any value. All my life I have tried to be who I am, I lead a very simple life, I say very little and most of the time I’m very quiet, I never try to present myself as a know it all.

One of my friends’ once said, “Sabeth you’ll never have any enemies, you are so quiet.”

I smiled and said, “You are wrong, Prasad, but I do.”

He looked at me and said, ” I do not believe it how could you, you never say a word?”

I told him what I discovered from a classmate of mine when she decided to come with me to the library. After complaining about a fellow classmate, she told me she thought I was a very proud person, what gave her the idea, because I was so quiet.

Prasad was surprised how someone could come to this  conclusion.

Guess what I found out, maybe I’d write it later.

…………………………………… 🙂

6 thoughts on “The Daily Post : Simplicity

  1. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for this nice post. It reminds me of how we often misinterpret the behaviors of others, thinking it to be one thing, when it is, in fact, another.

    All good wishes,

    robert

  2. Simplicity in life is a favorite theme of mine. I try to live it. I’m glad you wrote about it. When studying communication, I learned that, as a stereotype, quiet people are often perceived as proud. Ironic judgment and totally wrong-way from what is true. We humans are so strange sometimes. I’m glad you live out simplicity the way you do.

    • Thank you Christopher, my Dad was always worried that my being so simple was not a good thing. He had an example right
      under his roof i.e., my older sister, she always thought about herself how she looks, how many saris she must have.
      I didn’t do any of that. My dad thought how will I survive, of course he didn’t tell me that, but spoke to mom about it.
      I think I came out all right, at least I’m happy the way I am.

Leave a Reply

