Writing: Intro to Poetry, Day Four: Journey

Poetry, Day Four: Journey

Device: Simile

Wikipedia image of Chawk Bazaar road, Comilla

 

Empty_Chakbazar_Road_in_Comilla,_2_Dec,_2011.jpg (1600ร—1200)

I’ve made countless journey on this road

It was impassable when the flood overflowed

It looked more like a river and less like a road

This was the story I was often told!

…………………………….

 

Comilla brings back memories when I was a child

Our days were filled with laughter,

When we behaved like animals in the wild.

Mom warned she’d take over,

If we didn’t stop acting like animals in the wild!

……………………………………

 

There were hardly much traffic on this road,

Which is why we chose to to be so bold.

We ran in the middle we jogged on the side,

It made mom crazy watching us glide!

…………………………………….

 

We said, mom, “the road is as quiet as a mouse,

Do not worry you stay in the house.”

Did she listen to us, of course she did not?

She dragged us in even if we fought!

…………………………………………

 

This was my town which I miss

I’m sure I won’t find another so bliss.

It was as peaceful like the truce,

where no one ever ย dared to abuse!

…………………………………. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Writing: Intro to Poetry, Day Four: Journey

  1. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for sharing this post of journeying and the town you miss. We all have places which, to us, are special, and toward which we still have longing.

    All good wishes,

    robert

    • I’ve tried to reply to your comment many times, but I wasn’t able to, my computer
      somehow kept stalling me. Now that I have the opportunity,I want let you know I’m truly grateful for your comment,
      it helps me to know how I’m doing. I get the assignment but without feedback, I’m not sure
      if I’m doing it right. Poetry was always my favorite subject, but I had zero knowledge of different kinds
      of poetry. Thank you for letting me know how I’m doing. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Best wishes to you. Ranu

Leave a Reply

