Daily Post’s Prompt: Apology

In response to daily post’s one-word prompt: Apology

What an apology means to a child.

One day my youngest daughter got hurt, I immediately said, ‘I’m Sorry!’

She was still crying and said, ‘You know mom sorry doesn’t help.’

Come to think of it I agree sorry doesn’t help when one is hurt. There are some cases when you say sorry it does soften the blow, depending on what it is.

A few weeks ago I posted my hundred word story in the wrong website, that is I was sure it should be posted in my website and then send them the link. Which I did, for days I heard nothing and wondered what went wrong.

Then I got a message saying I was supposed to post it directly on their blog. I’m not a new blogger but as far as these technical stuff goes I think I’m still in preschool. Some of the things I haven’t learned is, what is sticky? Pingback, I requested one blogger who seems to be an expert on creating pingbacks to explain the procedure. I did not hear from him, which to me means it’s top secret, so it’s not possible to decode it, even though I take the trouble of reading his long long posts and write a comment.

Next time his posts arrive in my website, I’d have to say, ‘Sorry chum I’m unable to read it.’

I know this will not be treated as an apology, will it soften the blow? I wonder.

Two weeks ago I had an appointment with my physician, the time I was supposed to be there was 9:45 am, I arrived ten minutes late, it wasn’t intentional, the delay was caused by the slow moving bus. I got on at 9:10 am, it took the bus more than 45 minutes to get there. I apologized a few times, the secretary was very sweet she forgave me at once.

………………………………… 🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “Daily Post’s Prompt: Apology

  1. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for this nice post. When we do someone wrong, a sincere apology can help ease the pain, even though it doesn’t wipe away the original deed.

    Then again, some people seem to over-use apologies, and their apologies then seem insincere.

    All good wishes,

    robert

  2. Yes your daughter was right, “sorry” may not solve the problem. But it almost immediately makes the other person feel a bit or even a lot better. So that is half your problem solved!

Leave a Reply

