Daily Post: Joke

In response to daily post’s one-word prompt : Joke

 

Free wikipedia image

 

Black_Badna-Bodna_BD.jpg (800×812)

This is a vessel we use in Bangladesh, esp. in villages, because of lack of running water. We fill it with water and use the water to wash ourselves before our prayer.

Years ago we visited Grandpa’s house in the village, one day I wanted to play a joke on my little three year old cousin, his name was Babul, pointing to the vessel I said, “Babul glashta ano.”( Babul bring the glass).

My cousin looked at the vessel which we call bodna,  he said, ” na Ranu Apa glash na bodna.”(No, Ranu Apa, it’s  not a glass, it’s a bodna).

He refused to bring it until I said the correct word. I thought he’d cry if I didn’t say the right word. I had to say Achcha  bodna ( all right bodna).

…………………………………. 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Daily Post: Joke

  1. Oh, the jokes we play on our siblings, especially when we are all younger. Maybe when we’re older, too. I had two older brothers who played tricks on me. Then I did that for my two younger siblings.

    Thank you, Ranu.

    • Thank you, I knew he was only three years old but he didn’t like if we tried to convince him,
      no it’s not what you think it’s a glass, he’d hold the vessel and start crying no it’s not a glass.
      His mother would laugh from the kitchen and tell me I shouldn’t tease him, she had to pretend she was on his side,
      even though she had as much fun as I did. 🙂

  2. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for sharing this post with us. It’s funny how some jokes turn out :).

    All good wishes,

    robert

Leave a Reply

