My post on lemon and lime pickle

Lemon and Lime Pickle

A few weeks ago, I went to Costco to buy some groceries. While walking along the aisles, I saw bags of fresh limes and lemons, what’s more important was they were so cheap. I thought of the supermarket where one lemon is a dollar and not so fresh. As soon as this thought entered my head I picked up a bag of lemon and a bag of lime.

When I came home I looked at the bags I was guilty, I bought these bags of lemon and lime and couldn’t figure out how I’d use them. Two whole days went by and my fridge was full of lemon and lime, I didn’t even use one, immediately I thought of the quote; “Penny wise pound foolish.”

I always used this quote to make fun of my husband. I gave it some thought and wondered was it possible to pickle them, I didn’t have a recipe. I turned on my computer and typed, “Epicurious. com, lime and lemon pickle recipe.” Within seconds there were a whole bunch of recipes, I had most of the spices and other ingredients, I just needed some mason jars. I bought them from Walmart.

Next day I took out the limes,  followed the recipe, sterilized the jars, and poured the quartered limes that I mixed with the spices and other ingredients, I put the lid on and put them on my kitchen windowsill, hoping we’d have enough sunlight to infuse them, a week later, I tasted them, I didn’t like the taste, so I used more spices and all the other ingredients and mixed them, then   put them back on the windowsill. I left them there for another week. It tastes amazing now, I can’t believe I’d be so pleased with the finished product.

I applied the same technique with the lemons, now I have three jars of delicious pickle. I’m so glad I didn’t let the bags of lime and lemon to rot.

Below is a photo I took of my pickle. I wish I could share with my blogger friends.

 

Lime and Lemon pickle

IMG_1260

8 thoughts on “My post on lemon and lime pickle

  1. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for sharing this experience of preparing pickles. I like how you creatively worked with the recipe to get them to a good taste :).

    All good wishes,

    robert

  2. Thanks for sharing the picture 🙂 They look great. And the good thing is that that all those three jars from bags that you found at a price you liked.

    • Thank you, I know it’s my fault, why did I buy two bags of lime and lemon, it’s so silly to
      buy because it’s cheap. In the end it worked out, I have three jars of tasty pickle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

