Daily Post Prompt : Sidewalk

In response to daily post’s prompt : Sidewalk

Wikipedia image, this is Memorial university campus on Elizabeth Avenue.

MemorialUniversity.jpg (2816×2112)

I live in a corner house where our front faces, Elizabeth Avenue, and on the back of our house is Baltimore Street. Due to high traffic in Elizabeth Avenue, our driveway is on Baltimore Street.

Baltimore Street is a very short street. The sidewalk is only on one side of the street. In winter it’s covered with snow, students who live here have to walk on the street. It is risky but they have no choice.

Elizabeth Avenue  has sidewalks on both sides, the snow is cleared by the city, it is an important road because of the university. In the summer it is pleasant to walk on it and enjoy watching people on bike, cars, trucks and the pedestrians on foot.

Unlike other sidewalks in downtown St. John’s, it is free from peddlers. Once in a while one can see a man pushing a cart carrying, empty bottles and cans. This is how he makes his living by selling them to the Recycle depot. One must appreciate how he toils hard, rather than pan handling. We have a few panhandlers, they sit on the side street.

……………………………………………:)

6 thoughts on “Daily Post Prompt : Sidewalk

  1. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for sharing this depiction of the area where you live. You described it so well that I could see it in my mind’s eye :).

    All good wishes,

    robert

    • I got the image from Wikipedia. I didn’t take a photo of this street,even though I see it daily.
      The felines love watching the traffic, most of the time they’re sitting on the window taking it all in. 🙂

    • Thank you so much.When I was writing about my street, I forgot what I was doing, I wrote whatever came to my mind.
      I’m delighted to read your comment it tells me how I’m doing. I don’t know about others but it does help me a lot.:)

Leave a Reply

