Daily Post Prompt: Twinkle

In response to daily post’s one-word prompt : Twinkle

The song lyrics and translation by Tagore.

Posted by Ranu

 

Light, my light, the world-filling light,
the eye-kissing light,heart-sweetening light!
Ah, the light dances, my darling,at the center of my light;
the light strikes, my darling, the chords of my love;
The sky opens, the wind runs wild,
laughter passes over the earth.
The butterflies spread their sails on
 the sea of light.
Lillies and jasmines surge up
on the crest of the waves of light.
The light is scattered into gold on 
the cloud my darling, 
and it scatters gems in profusion.
Mirth spreads from leaf to leaf,
 my darling, and gladness without measure.
Heaven's river has drowned its banks
 and the flood of joy is abroad. 
 

Translated by Rabindranath Tagore

………………………………………….. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

12 thoughts on “Daily Post Prompt: Twinkle

  1. Thanks for sharing this lovely song. I enjoyed the translation and the lyricism of the original in the video too, and especially the climax: “Heaven’s river has drowned its banks and the flood of joy is abroad.”

    • Thank you so much, when I saw Tagore translated his song himself I felt, no one could equal his translation.
      He wrote the lyrics, he knew exactly how he felt. My interpretation would be different. In Bengali one of the words he used was
      bhai, I didn’t know bhai in the lyrics meant his beloved. There were other words he used in Bengali that showed a different
      feeling. In Bengali as it is in English, has a variety of synonyms, which does not necessarily have the same meaning. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

