Daily Post : Flattery

In response to daily post’s one- word prompt : Flattery

To tell you the truth once in a while flattery motivates me to do well in all sorts of things such as : cooking, studying, reading, and oh so may other things. I’m being human, I love reading comments where they say, your poem is so good, you’re so gifted. I say to myself really I didn’t know that.

I grew up in a family of lot of brothers and sisters. No one ever praised me for doing well in school, getting a scholarship or helping whenever they needed my help. It always seemed I was expected to do better and if I got a scholarship, it’s no big deal.

But they my elder brothers and sister did not forget to criticize me if I had an extra hour of sleep, because I was tired. They said, I’m sleeping because I’m not interested to study.

If a teacher praised me I thought they made a mistake, they must have meant someone else. I thought if I was good, my family members would tell me before others.

……………………………….. πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Daily Post : Flattery

  1. I am glad to be the first to comment on this post, so I may say in response to your last sentence: here, I am telling you before others that this post is a good piece of writing πŸ™‚ You have expressed yourself with such flow and ease.

    • Thank you, it’s a great way to get praise. Then again we are humans if we don’t get it automatically,all we need is give a hint. Right? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. Dear Ranu,

    I do not believe in criticizing.

    There are more helpful and effective ways to help others improve.

    Really, though, most criticism reflects more on the one criticizing than the one being criticized. This reminds me of a saying: “A complaining soul will complain even in paradise.” Perhaps, then a criticizing soul criticizes simply because that is her/his habit.

    All good wishes,

    robert

Leave a Reply

