Hindi Song, Singer Muhammad Rafi, translated and posted by Ranu

My broken dreams have taught me

what my heart  found my eyes lost

I keep looking for her

Whom I cannot find

I don’t understand why 

my beloved is unhappy with me

what my desire was and

what I saw in front of me

was not the same

I sought heaven to help me

but my desperate plea

collided with a star

it came crashing down

and landed in the desolate

shores of the world.

It seems I achieved nothing

By my  violent passion

It happened because my heart

and my eyes failed to agree!

………………………………    ):

 

 

6 thoughts on “Hindi Song, Singer Muhammad Rafi, translated and posted by Ranu

  1. This has been a favorite song of mine, and I marvel at your beautiful translations 🙂 Thank you very much for sharing the song and the translation.

    • Dear Shafique,
      I was afraid you’d say, WOW this Bengali girl has the audacity to translate an Urdu song.
      But I am brave and also the thought that I learned the language when I was very little,
      I had the privilege of learning my mother tongue Bengali, and Urdu and English were languages I was
      exposed to when I was only a few years old. 🙂

Leave a Reply

