Daily Prompt : Cling

In response to daily post’s  one-word prompt : Cling

It has been many years since I lost my dearest father, still I cling to his memory as if it was yesterday, my Dad was dying, my brother crying, asking him to please not to leave us. He had no choice his eyes were telling us, “I’m sorry, I cannot stay, even though I do not want to leave you.”

I sometimes wonder, what’s wrong with me, why can’t I let go of his memory? Perhaps he is one of those people who forever stays in the memory of his loved ones.

When I was able to understand things around me, I watched my Dad either reading his favorite newspaper or having breakfast alone, I used to peek to see if he needed something. There were days he was unhappy because he didn’t like the food. He’d call me and tell me, ‘Ranu give this food to your Mom.’

I was pleased Dad wanted to share his food with Mom. I remember telling Mom to eat the food, Dad sent it for her. Mom was furious, she yelled so loud, I was scared and started crying. Mom realized she frightened me. She lowered her voice, told me Dad did not like the food and this was his way of letting her know.

In my opinion my Mom was the best cook in the world,how can Dad complain about it.

One day I was crying in bed, I had a severe stomach ache. My Dad wasn’t feeling well, yet he was concerned about me. Morning turned to afternoon, my Dad was in his room hearing my cries which continued, he  was agitated about this, he said, “I’m hearing Ranu crying for so many hours, I’ve noticed none of her siblings asked her what was wrong. If they can do this while I’m alive I cannot think what will happen when I’m gone.”

That afternoon my eldest brother, came to my room and said, ” Ranu let’s go to the doctor to find out why you’re having trouble with your stomach.”

I was extremely scared I thought my brother will punish me for crying. I quietly went with him, no he was not angry with me, but was nice.

There was another time my Dad heard me crying, he asked, ‘Why is Ranu crying?’

My older sister said, ‘There’s nothing wrong she always cries for nothing.’

Dad said, ‘she does not cry without reason,I’ll ask her now.’

He called me, ‘Ranu what’s wrong?’

I cried out loud and complained, ‘Dad I only have one dress for school, I have to wash it every day.’

He was surprised he called my Mom told her, ‘Do you know Ranu has only one dress for school?’

My mom was asked to immediately go to the store get fabric for my dress, the fabric was bought and the tailor stitched my dress within a day.

These are some of the things I remember about my Dad. He was unique, he did not ignore our needs, how can I not cling on to his memory?

……………………………………

 

 

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt : Cling

  1. Dear Ranu,

    As I have shared before with you, I always enjoy your posts in which you mention your Dad. You convey to us the warmth of your memories of him. They always bring a smile to my face.

    All good wishes,

    robert

  2. Yes, I have the same to say as Robert here, I also enjoy reading these posts very much where you mention your dad. May God bless his soul. I also think he was a very nice person and he might be smiling at you from heaven for sharing these wonderful memories of him.

Leave a Reply

