Daily Prompt : Ten

In response to daily post’s prompt :Ten

When I was eight my brother always warned me,

Make me a cup of tea he’d say,

or I’ll be counting to  Ten.

Immediately he’d drag out the numbers

O N E, TWO, THREE

Reluctantly I’d get up, while his counting began,

Do not waste time or, FOUR….

At the count of four I’d run to the kitchen,

Wondering what will he do if I didn’t go.

One thing was sure, I was afraid to take a chance,

Moments later I’d be back with a cup of tea,

My brother meanwhile with a grin on his face,

would look at me!

When I recall those days,I still wonder,

What would he have done,

if I didn’t make the tea?

Would he scold me, hit me,

pull my ears off of my head

or lock me up until I promised

To make him a cup of tea!

………………………………. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt : Ten

  1. Dear Ranu,

    I suspect your brother would have done nothing to you. Some people use power-over tactics (like intimidation) to compel others to do things for them. What do *you* think?

    All good wishes,

    robert

    • Dear Robert,
      Thank you so much. You know what? I was too scared to find out. The moment
      he counted ek(one) dui (two),I’d run to the kitchen to make his tea. He said
      he had to make me work, because I was lazy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

