Daily Prompt: Recognize

In response to daily post’s one-word prompt : Recognize

Lately I’m finding rather difficult to recognize a certain group of people. All these years they were friendly, called me Auntie, suddenly it looks like they refuse to know me. You readers might want to know the reason, I honestly do not know myself  what in the world have I  done to these people. Can this be how people behave when their own life is muddled up? If so, ‘Why should I be their punching bag.’

These are a group of women who happen to be from my original country. I met them here in St. John’s, before this I did not know them.

I was once  asked by our school librarian about some woman from India, who was teaching in Labrador. I had to remind him, India’s population is over a billion, how can I possibly know all of them. For that matter I don’t even know all the people in my little hometown.

I happen to recognize people by their name, I can tell where they’re from. Now a days even a name doesn’t help. Once I heard a teacher in my school calling her pupil, Jamila. Immediately I asked where is she  from? The teacher said, ‘Relax my dear, She’s a Newfie( short for Newfoundlander), her parents thought of giving her a unique name.’

WOW I thought, a unique name! Oh I get it some of our country women are named Suzy, Sally, Shelly. They’re also I guess trying to be unique.

But my Dad was not in favor of disguising the identity of his children by giving us English names. His idea was if on paper they see the name, ‘Elizabeth,’  they’d be looking for Elizabeth, an English or American woman, suddenly they find this Elizabeth is brown, wears a sari, the thought at once is, ‘why isn’t she,  Geeta, Sita,Ranu ?’  See what I mean!

…………………………………. 🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Recognize

  1. It’s true Ranu, it could be that their lives are all muddled up. You have managed to keep yourself centered and self taught so don’t worry about anyone else, it’s their loss 🙂

Leave a Reply

