Daily Prompt : Pattern

In response to daily post’s one-word prompt : Pattern

I’ll begin with this quote on a bookmark, a gift from a parent of a pupil I taught:

One hundred years from now. It will not matter what kind of car I drove, what kind of house I lived in , how much I had in my bank account, nor what my clothes looked like. But the world may be a little better because I was important in the life of a child.”

Author unknown

In my teaching career, I’ve met several students, they ranged from : good, better and best. In order  to classify these youngsters I taught, was to study their behavior pattern, if you are good in your craft you can tell who’d succeed and who won’t. You can also change their attitude by seeking help from those who are their birth parents.

It was September, I was a grade four teacher, and waited to see the group of kids who I’d teach that year. They were lined up and were told I was their teacher. As they walked into my classroom I watched them all. Suddenly I spotted one who did not seem to be excited about school.

Her facial expression gave it away. I immediately got hold of the Principal and told him of my concern.

He smiled perhaps he thought, it was odd, it was day one and I already saw someone who I thought was not thrilled about school.

He gave me the name and telephone number of her parents and encouraged me to call them. I called them, they were eager to see who their teacher was and what was her concern. They knew their daughter, no one ever complained about her, they couldn’t wait to see me.

I made an appointment with them to see me after school. They came one afternoon, sat in my classroom, waited for me to hear what sort of worries I had about their daughter. I told them I noticed when she walked in she hated to be there, her facial expression was negative, and that I feared she won’t do very well. My intention was to let the parents know it was time for them to have a talk with their kid.

While I was talking I noticed the mother was smiling and looking at her husband. When I finished what I had to say. They told me, right from kindergarten their child hated school. In fact she dreaded school so much she could not enjoy summer holidays. She also said because no one complained all these years she assumed the child was doing okay.

I was the one who complained, they knew their daughter and was pleased to know someone else besides them was also aware that school was not the place their kid wanted to spend her time.

I found them eager to help, they did whatever they could, as a result I found their child actually liking school. Hence the saying, “Nip the evil in the bud!”

…………………………………………….. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt : Pattern

  1. Dear Ranu,

    What a great service it is for people to pay close, caring attention to our children.

    You changed the course of that child’s life :).

    All good wishes,

    robert

Leave a Reply

