Daily Prompt : Instinct

In response to daily posts one-word prompt : Instinct

My encounter with Mother Goose and her Goslings

Several years ago I was walking home from school, I saw a Goose with its goslings, I stopped and instinctively a thought occurred in my mind, will the mama goose come after me? I was eight years old, my home was walking distance from my school. This particular day I decided to take a short cut home. It was a neighborhood I’d never visited before. When I saw the goose I had a hunch, maybe I should turn around and use my familiar road.

I was hesitant, I walked two steps, stopped, and then did the same another few yards. Perhaps my slow movement alerted the goose I might hurt her little ones. I was a human and she could not trust me. The moment I resumed my walk she lowered her long neck and chased  me.

I was alone not knowing what to do I turned around screaming till I reached the road. I eventually calmed down when  the goose stopped chasing me. I took my familiar long way home. That was the day I realized, even a bird knows how to protect her young ones!

……………………………………………………. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt : Instinct

  1. Dear Ranu,

    I imagine that was frightening! A mother of any kind will protect her young :).

    All good wishes,

    robert

Leave a Reply

