Daily Prompt : Gate

In response to daily post’s one-word prompt : Gate

The word, Gate, reminds me of an incidence, where I needed to see my uncle to sign his name and stamp his official seal on the piece of paper acknowledging, I am who the paper says I am.

I took the  stairs to reach the seventh floor, and then walked a few yards to the door of his office. Suddenly someone guarding the door stopped me,  his question,  ‘whom do you want?’

I said my uncle’s name, he handed me a piece of paper,  ‘Write your name and the purpose of your visit.’

I quickly wrote my name, and made it a point to include my last name. The guy told me to wait outside the door.

Within minutes my uncle came rushing to the door, he looked at the man minding the gate and said, “Do you know she is my niece, how dare you let her stand outside the door.”

The guy apologized and replied,   ‘but  she did not tell me you are her uncle!’

What happened to the gate man I don’t know, I did feel he’d have some explaining to do!

…………………………………….. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt : Gate

Leave a Reply

