DP Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams( Are made of…

pad2014-s.png (308×60)

Sweet dreams are made of sugar and spice and everything nice. I have day dreams, which gives me great pleasure if they turn out as I want them to be.

There was a time I dreamed about living in a country other than my own. The political situation,the constant worry of living in a place with fear, was diminishing my  patriotic spirit to a point where I was having nightmares, I was looking for an opportunity to get out and live somewhere I could live in peace.

The opportunity although some might call weird I grabbed it. Now what was grand about it, I married a man who lived in North America, who  had a decent job. That meant I won’t starve, there won’t be general strikes, procession by students, or someone robbing us.

It was a beautiful city, I met a lady soon after I came. She and I became good friends,each morning we went for long walks  to get fresh air and also much needed exercise.

I watched the first snowstorm which paralyzed the city. It was not as bad as frequent strikes and turmoil in my native land.

People were friendly, my husband’s boss was a delightful gentleman. When he heard I intended to learn driving he very gently told me not to practice on his street.

There were a lot of new places to see and enjoy. I relished living in a country other than my own.

A year later we moved to a different province,my husband got a job in a small town of ten thousand people. I was lucky I was hired to teach in a local elementary school.

It was not all rosy, a colleague of mine was jealous when she found out my salary was higher than hers. She was never nice to me. I carried out my duties the best way I knew. The kids were excited to have me as a teacher. I had long hair, I wore a sari to school, I was different. The other children had  Mrs Hill, Mrs. Fogarty, Mrs. Bluebell and so on.

I was Mrs. Nasheman, they had a bit of trouble pronouncing it , the unique name made them happy. If you ever teach kids you’ll find out how unique they themselves are.

My dream is fulfilled I am so happy!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/26/daily-prompt-sweet-dreams/

41 thoughts on “DP Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams( Are made of…

  1. Pingback: Until then… | Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  2. Pingback: Speed of Light | THE MARRIED MAN WHO LOVES HIS X

  3. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for this post. It’s a blessing to have (as you note) better living conditions, despite having to move from one’s motherland.

    All good wishes,

    robert

  4. Pingback: “I need to climb the cherry tree to get to the marshmallows” | jigokucho

  5. Pingback: Sweet Dreams | Knowledge Addiction

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  7. Pingback: Raging Inferno | Views Splash!

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams – Mark II, Mod VI | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  9. Pingback: Dreams and Exams | A mom's blog

  10. Pingback: No Idris Elba, I will not marry you! | Altared Egos

  11. Pingback: Sweet Dreams (It’s Morphin’ Time!) | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  12. Pingback: Sweet Dreams from Angel Grove | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  13. Pingback: DREAMS OF ARMAGEDDON | hastywords

  14. Pingback: DREAM ASYLUM ANALYSIS | hastywords

  15. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) | The Wandering Poet

  16. Pingback: El Dreamo | Edward Hotspur

  17. Pingback: I dreamed a dream of time … wait, it was something … hold on. | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  18. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  19. Pingback: Sweet Dreams | Alexia Jones

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.