Life’s Journey by Tagore Translation by ranu

Life’s Journey     Rabindranath Tagore

Your journey is beginning.     Mine is ending.

You and I together will flow on forever.

Your light is shining, you have a companion.

I have the night before me.   The stars are shining above me.

Your journey is beginning. Mine is ending.

You are on land.     I am in the water.

You are sitting calmly.    I am restless and moving.

Your hand is young and strong.   My hand is old and rusty.

In your mind you are fearful.     I am free from fear.

Your journey is beginning.  Mine is ending.

You and I together will flow on forever.

10 thoughts on “Life’s Journey by Tagore Translation by ranu

    • Thank you Robert,it is a beautiful song.I was thinking of my student days.The memory of this one just popped in my head.
      I was returning from the university after my classes,one of the girls I met on my way back,just jokingly said,’Oh ,Tomar
      holo shuru amar holo shara.’meaning you are beginning I am ending.Just my nostalgic memory of my time in school.It came in handy for translation.
      My best wishes to you.
      Regards,
      Ranu

  1. “You and I together will flow on forever” a very special line when the remaining poem deals with the contrast but here with all that contast lies the similarity and togetherness and a bond that life provides to each of us.

    • Yes Akhtar Bhai,it is a very beautiful song.I was telling Robert how one day I was coming back from the
      university and two girls who were going to the university,stopped me and said Chaman Apa,Are you finished for the day?
      I said yes,then the other one said,now you can say ‘Tomar holo shuru,amar holo shara’ You are beginning,I am ending.’
      It is strange I only remembered the incident two days ago.Thanks for visiting Bhai Sahib.It makes it that much enjoyable for me.
      Regards,
      Chaman

  2. Pingback: Indian poet Rabindranath Tagore and Brazil | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  3. Pingback: Indian poet Rabindranath Tagore and Brazil | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.