Daily Prompt: Lookin’ Out My Back Door

pad2015-s1.png (308×60)

Look out you back window or door__ describe what you see,as if you were trying to convey the scene to someone from another country or planet.

This is an imaginary dialogue with my brother, who’s visiting me from Dhaka, Bangladesh.

Me:    Hey Riaz, come and see the scene from my back window.

Riaz: Ranu, your backyard is large, don’t you grow some vegetables and flowers?

Ranu: We have a bed where we planted some perennials.

Riaz: What are perennials?

Ranu : These are variety of flowers, like tulips, daffodils and peonies,petunias. Once you plant them, you do not have to plant them again they come year after year. This way is cheaper, not like annuals they have to be planted every year.

Riaz: Who mows your lawn, it looks beautiful, I like how green the grass is?

Ranu: I used to mow the lawn one time but as you can see the land is not flat, I found it challenging to continue mowing. I had to  hire the lawn care people. Their company is called, “Affordable Lawn Care,” I’ve often told the owner the  name of your company should be named , “Unaffordable  Lawn Care”.

Riaz : Who owns these trees?

Ranu : One  beside the driveway on the right side, belongs to us, the other one in the middle of our lawn and the neighbor’s, belongs to my next door neighbor.

Riaz: the leaves of these trees are very interesting , what is the name of the trees?

Ranu: They are maple trees, in the Autumn the leaves fall off the trees and the trees are bare. When you see them in the winter, you might think the trees are dead, but this is not the case. In Spring the leaves begin to show up by summer the trees are covered with leaves.

Riaz: I see your neighbor’s roof, what is it covered with?

Ranu: They are shingles, they last for over twenty years. Now that you’ve seen my backyard what do you think?

Riaz: Your backyard is awesome, it is worth it to hire professionals to look after it.

……………………………. 🙂