Daily Prompt: The Cat Says Meow

pad2015-s1.png (308×60)

Write a story about yourself from the perspective of an object, thing, animal, or another person.

There are times I think about the two felines, Raphael and Gabriel. We first brought Gabriel to our home, he was a tiny baby scared and insecure, after a week we had a change of heart why not we get his brother from the same family.

After we brought Raphael  Gabriel’s change was unbelievable, he was sure of himself and was not scared at all.

We watched the two of them esp.Gabriel who showed his brother how to climb the stairs. They are a little over a year now. Their personalities are completely different. Gabriel is calm behaves well around us and Raphael is the exact opposite. His temperament is sweet but beneath that is one naughty feline.

I’m wondering what Raphael thinks day after day when I spray him with water for a number of things he does wrong. He chews my books, I spray him with water, he knocks down our pictures he gets sprayed. This morning he is in a sour mood, I found him lying on one of the dining chairs, he did not attempt to come to my room.

He could not help but to come in to my room when the door was open and took possession of my chair where I sit to use my computer.He could not resist the temptation. I stood there looking at him hoping he’d vacate my chair. But he was unconcerned about me. So I sat on the edge of the chair, he moved a bit hoping I’d leave but when I didn’t, he jumped down and went to the dining room I could tell he was disgusted.

I went twice to see where he was, he is  comfortably sitting in front of my sewing machine, perhaps anticipating me coming to drive him out of there. As long as he does not chew the box I’ll let him stay where he is.

Raphael must be sick of not having his way, he I’m sure does not have good thoughts about me. Every time he hears my footsteps he must  think, “here she comes again with her bottle, one of these days I’ll chew that bottle, so she cannot use it against me, you’ll see that day is not too far.”

I can sense what he is thinking I smile and say, “really Raphael you think you can do that, let me see you try!”

…………………………………………… 🙂

Blogging 101,Day one: Introduce yourself to the world

Today’s assignment: Write and publish a “who am I and why I’m here” post on your blog.

My name is Ranu, I am a Bengali from Bangladesh. My Father was Abdus Sabeth and my mother was Tahira Khatun. I am my parents seventh child.

In my country we all have two names, one is used at home and among relatives and the other is used outside home i.e school , certificates. It’s considered a formal name.

Like others in my homeland I too have two names, Ranu is my nick name and Chaman is my name which is used in my certificates and other documents.

When I started blogging I felt comfortable using Ranu as my user name.It’s short and easy to pronounce.

I studied in schools where the medium of instruction was English. I was able to take my mother tongue  Bengali as one of the subjects .

I am blogging publicly because it motivates me to write. Before becoming a blogger, I did not write a personal journal, I did not think about it and was not interested.

My blog’s focus is mainly on writing fiction, sometimes I like writing recipes, I also like translating poems and song lyrics of Rabindranath Tagore. He was a famous Bengali poet. I enjoy reading his poems listening to his songs and translating them, my aim is to let other bloggers enjoy Tagore’s poetry and songs, which is why I like translating them.

There are a few sports, I am interested to watch, one of them is Tennis and other is Ice Hockey, especially when my favorite team  or my favorite player is playing.

In Tennis my favorite players are  Roger Federer among men and Maria Sharapova among women. If they lose early in tournaments, I’m disappointed and lose my interest.

I love cooking spicy food, and have posted some recipes on my blog.

I’m also participating in online courses since 2011, it is the study of Allama Iqbal one of Pakistan’s most favorite and well-known poet and Philosopher. It is offered by Khurram Ali Shafique, he has devoted a long time studying about Iqbal and is the perfect facilitator for all of us.

Lastly I’d like to write about  my blog name  Sabethville, I  used my father’s last name Sabeth and added ville to it.

I hope to meet a lot of other bloggers and also read their posts.

…………………………………….. 🙂