Daily Prompt: I’ve Become My Parents

pad2015-s1.png (308×60)

Do you ever find yourself doing something your parents used to do when you were a kid, despite the fact you hated it back then.

If I could do what my parents used to do back when I was growing up, it would make my kids less selfish. These days kids follow what the friends say.

Even though I looked after all their needs, even taught them, so they wouldn’t have problems in school, they not only fail  to  appreciate it, they do not hesitate to tell me I know nothing.

I’m not sure if all the kids do that, but my kids certainly are guilty of it.

I recall the first year of teaching in a small town in North America, I had some very outspoken kids, who cared little that the teacher could hear them, one of them addressed his mother as that ‘Woman’ when I heard it I could not take it lightly, I had to tell him, it wasn’t very nice to address his mother as ‘that woman,’ it was disrespectful. He looked at me and showed a, ‘I don’t care what you think attitude.’

Two weeks later we had our “parent teacher interview,” I told the mother about this incidence, she clearly was embarrassed. She assured me she was going to take care of his bad behavior.

Next morning, I could see a drastic change in his behavior, he was extremely polite and never behaved improperly.

Not everything parents say or make kids do can be taken as negative, it is a learning process for the kids,and parents are the best people who can give their  kids that knowledge!

…………………………… 🙂