Daily Prompt: My Precious

pad2015-s1.png (308×60)

Who is the person in your life who can do no wrong ? Describe this person and tell us why you hold this person in such high esteem.

Could there be such a person in anyone’s life who can do no wrong ? I have found no one like that yet.

There are people I know who are extremely nice, who will do anything for you, if you ask, but I cannot for certain say they can do no wrong.

I met a person not too long ago. He came to our rescue when we badly needed someone who could take care of our felines while we were in Montreal for a week.

One thing about him I must admit is  one of our felines loved him so much, he refused to come back with us. His behavior was strange for a week after we brought him, he was not interested to interact with us.

If I were a believer in Spell, I’d say he cast a spell on our cat, but I don’t think so,  or  maybe he treated him like royalty, let him do whatever, including messing up his closet full of clothes.

We do not let him have his way, I spray him when he is unruly and naughty. That person although we provided him with the spray bottle,  never used it. Even felines recognize where they can get away with bad behavior.

All I know about this person is  he helped us out when we were in a tight corner, from this experience can I say he can do no wrong? I simply have no answer, except I admit he is a good soul! 🙂

……………………………… 🙂

Part four of the book: On Eating and Drinking

Then an old man said, Speak to us of Eating and Drinking.

And he said:

Would that you could live on the fragrance of the earth, and like an air plant be sustained by light.

But since you must kill to eat, and rob the newly born of it’s mother’s milk to quench your thirst, let it then be an act of worship,

And let your board stand an altar on which the pure and the innocent of forest and plain are sacrificed for that which is purer and still more innocent in man.

When you kill a beast, say to him in your heart:

“By the same power that slays you,I too am slain;and I too shall be consumed.

For the law that delivered you into my hand shall deliver me into a mightier hand.

Your blood and my blood is naught but the sap that feeds the tree in heaven.”

And when you crush an apple with your teeth,say to it in your heart:”your seeds shall live in my body,

And the buds of your tomorrow shall blossom in my heart,

And your fragrance shall be my breath,

And together we shall rejoice through all seasons.”

And in the autumn when you gather the grapes of your vineyard for the winepress,say in your heart:

“I too am a vineyard, and my fruit shall be gathered for the winepress,

And like new wine I shall be kept in eternal vessels.”

And in winter, when you draw the wine, let there be in your heart a song  for each cup;

And let there be in the song a remembrance for the autumn days, and for the vineyard, and for the winepress.

This is all for today, it will be continued tomorrow!

……………………………. 🙂

 

Writing 101#3: One -Word inspiration

Prompts come in many different forms. Sometimes a single word is all you need to get your mind’s wheels turning. Here are six words:

Treasure

Regret

Home

Love

Uncertainty

Secret

Select one word in this list that speaks to you in some way.Have you always wanted to write about that wrong decision you made? Are you a long-term traveler looking for the right city to settle? Do you want to write about your relationship?

Regret is the word I feel speaks to me.

Although I think I’ve made right decisions in my life, my mind tells me I did not. Not working hard enough in primary and high school is one of the regrets, I have. I did not try to see what I could have accomplished if I were a little more careful in my studies earlier in life. I was happy getting passing grades without making any sincere efforts.

It is said,”Time and tide waits for no one” I heard it several times, I even loved repeating it. What I did not do is take a closer look and find out what message was  I getting from these few words.

I wanted to have a good education, I knew this was what  my parents wanted. I did accomplish this ambition. Still something tells me I should have listened to my uncle, who once told me, “Ranu you should study Philosophy.” I heard what he said but didn’t care enough to know what the subject was all about. I studied History instead, maybe I was good in remembering dates, which probably is  the reason why I opted to study   History.

Now when I look back I feel I did not make the right decision. When I read about Philosophers I find so much joy knowing, how they  entertained us with their knowledge and are continuing to do so despite the fact they are no longer among the living.

I have realized what I could have done when I was a student, the fact that I didn’t makes me unhappy sometimes.

I am happy  I got the opportunity to study about Iqbal  through online courses and Tagore,when I started blogging. Both were great philosophers in their time!

Dear participants and blogger friends, I’d love to get your feedback about my post. Thank you!

……………………………….. 🙂