DP Challenge Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound Of Silence

She sat in a corner of her room. Her face had no expression, yet it seemed she was deep in meditation. I sat next to her thinking she might tell me why she was so quiet, I wanted to ask her if she needed anything, she looked at me held my hand and gave me a kiss. I was afraid something bothered her but she wasn’t going to tell what it was. I never saw anyone look  so calm.

I wondered why I was so anxious to know what was going on perhaps there was nothing to tell. She was enjoying her quiet moment. Then my thought told me a different story.  Some of her siblings turned against her. She never knew what she’d done for them to treat her that way.

Rather than argue with them she decided to stay silent and keep to herself and think of things that were pleasant once upon a time. Yes I believe sometimes silence gives you piece of mind which is hard to get when you are discussing it with someone who can make things worse than better.

No wonder they say,”Silence is Golden!”

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/17/the-sound-of-silence/

27 thoughts on “DP Challenge Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound Of Silence

  1. Pingback: {Weekly Writing Challenge} The Sound of Silence. | 3rdculturechildren

  2. Pingback: The 31st of March 1994 – Minneapolis, Minnesota | Forgotten Correspondance

  3. Dear Ranu,

    Thank you for this nice post about silence. As part of my job, I teach de-escalation methods and strategies of managing violent people. One of the methods taught is to allow people to reside in their silence. Your post highlights well this point.

    All good wishes,

    robert

  4. And I seriously love this sentence from your post: “Yes I believe sometimes silence gives you piece of mind which is hard to get when you are discussing it with someone who can make things worse than better.”

  5. its deep and heart warming Ranu…lovely post and do make me think at times how silence can be interpreted…I still need to practice as I don’t think I am very good at handling it yet…

  6. Pingback: Silent hands make light work | litadoolan

  7. Pingback: Silent hands make light work | litadoolan

  8. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – The Sound of Silence – 17 FEB 2014 | Joe's Musings

  9. Pingback: On the art of better living | soulfoood

  10. Pingback: Hue Of Silence | Views Splash!

  11. Pingback: The Awkward Love Song of Abigail Archer [BOOK REVIEW] | Ramisa the Authoress

  12. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | mariestephensgardening

  13. Pingback: Letters from the Silence – 20th February, 2014 | Wired With Words

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.