Daily Prompts: Flow

pod-2016-sm.png (308×60)

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.


ও নদীরে, একটি কথা শুধাই শুধু তোমারে |
বলো কোথায় তোমার দেশ
তোমার নেই কি চলার শেষ! ও নদীরে…
তোমার কোনো বাঁধন নাই তুমি ঘর ছাড়া কি তাই,
এই আছো ভাটায় আবার এই তো দেখি জোয়ারে ||
এ কূল ভেঙে ও কূল তুমি গড়ো
যার একূল ওকূল দুকূল গেল তার লাগি কি করো?
আমায় ভাবছো মিছেই পর, তোমার নেই কি অবসর,
সুখ দুঃখের কথা কিছু কইলে না হয় আমারে ||

I thought about the one-word prompt: Flow. I felt the song describes the flow of the  river beautifully, why not I copy the lyrics and translate it.

This is a Bengali song , in it the singer is speaking to a river.

I’m translating the song into English:

O river I’m asking you a question

Tell me where is your country

Is there no end to your Flowing

You have no attachment is this why you don’t have a home

One moment I see you  on ebb-tide

Next you are flowing rapidly

Your flow breaks one shore and rebuilds another

Tell me river what will you do for someone who has no shore

You think I’m a stranger, don’t you have any free time

Why don’t you tell me about your pleasure and pain?

…………………………………..:)