Daily prompts: Connection

pod-2016-sm.png (308×60)

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt: CONNECTION

A few years ago I read a poem by Allama Iqbal. I had heard about this poet, I didn’t know him then. I was curious about a poem he wrote in Urdu.

This is the Urdu version:

Masjid toh bana di shab bhar mein

Iman ki hararat walon nay

Mun apna purana papi hai

Barson mein namazi  bun na saka

This is my translation into English:

They built the mosque in one night

The so called honest religious people

They are sinners at heart

In all these years they couldn’t become religious!

My curiosity made me do some research about this poem. According to popular belief there was a piece of land owned by no one. There were two groups who wanted to own it. The challenge was whoever could build a mosque or a temple would become owners of this land. According to the story, a group of Muslims spent the whole night to build a Mosque on that piece of land, they were successful and became the owners. The poet noticed the mosque was built but no one came to pray, this was the reason he wrote the poem.  The story took place in Lahore.

You might think how is this thing connected to me. Well I found out a gentleman named Khurram Ali Shafique was offering an online course on Iqbal studies. I contacted him by email and registered for the course. This is how I made the connection.

……………………………..:)

 

 

 

 

 

Tagore Song,Singer: Madhurima Sen translated and posted by Ranu


I will hoist my sail in your open breeze

I will cut the cable and attach it to my sail,

I’m willing to drown

In your open breeze

……………………………

I wasted my  morning,

My afternoon followed suit

Do not hold me back,

I’m willing to drown near the shore

……………………………………

I am staying  awake for the boatman, every night

The waves are busy playing with me

I will make storm my friend

I will not be afraid of its frown

Leave me alone, I’d feel better in the storm

I am willing to drown!

…………………………:)