DP Daily Prompt: Now You See Me Ranu’s post http:sabethville.wordpress.com

One morning I decided to go for a walk. I randomly selected a spot. I thought it would be perfect,the place was almost deserted. I was walking along quietly humming one of Tagore’s songs,suddenly I saw a tall figure blocking my movement. At first I was terrified and froze ,I slowly raised my head to look up. There he was with a beard so long,it came up to his waist. He knew he had startled me,he tried to lower his voice, “Woman” he said , “Do you want secret power?”  By this time I was beginning to relax,I didn’t feel threatened by him any more. I asked, “What kind of power?”  “It can help you  appear or disappear”, he said.

I pondered a moment and said ,”Okay, when will I get this power”? “Right this minute if you want.”  I agreed. He  told me to be careful,the power according to him would work from noon  to 4:30 pm. He handed me a silver charm,it had an on and off button. I was told no one must see it. I should always have it on me. I thought it’s not difficult, I can do it. “It should be a secret,” he said.

Then the long bearded fellow disappeared. I wanted to ask some more about the charm. I felt I was on top of the world with this charm.My next move was to use this unbelievable piece of silver. I went to the super market and ordered some groceries, I told the sales man ,I’d pick up at four pm. I clicked my charm to make me disappear and land at the mall. It was very busy,children came in droves to see Santa and also  hand him their wish list. I watched them and loved the interaction between the kids and Santa. No one saw me I could go anywhere in that mall. Then the worst thing happened,in my excitement I forgot to check the time. To my dismay it was 5 pm, it was past the time and the charm won’t work.

I was frantic I kept switching the on/off button. I wanted to be visible,but could not. I sat on one of the bench,all I could do was cry. I prayed for the bearded fellow to appear to get help. It was 9:45,the mall would close in fifteen minutes,I am invisible, and am unable to get my groceries. Five minutes before ten the bearded man appeared. I was ecstatic but he was not, he scolded me for a few seconds and magically transformed me back . I was visible. He asked me, “How did you like your power?” I said, “I am returning your charm,I want to be normal”. The magician disappeared and left me wondering if I made the right decision!

Tagore Song: ‘keno chokher’ Ranu’s post and translation https://sabethville.wordpress.com

English: Photo of Rabindranath Tagore, taken i...

English: Photo of Rabindranath Tagore, taken in 1905 or 1906 by the poet and artist Sukumar Ray, father of Satyajit Ray (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Why did I not moisten

the dry dust of the desert with my tears?

Who knew you will come my dear

like one uninvited.

You have traveled across a desert

where there are no trees

to provide shadow.

I am so unlucky

you suffered the pain of traveling,

While I was idly spending

time in the shade

of my house.

I was unaware how

much pain you went

through by walking.

It left a scar in my heart.

Why did I not moisten

the dry dust of the desert with my tears.