DP Daily Prompt: Lookin’ Out My Back Door

Look at your back window…describe what you see ,as if you were trying to convey the scene to someone from another country or planet.

I am trying to describe to my brother who lives in Dhaka what I can see from my back window. My house is in the corner of two streets,the guys who plow the streets are very cruel especially when we have a snowstorm.

What is a snowstorm, it’s like when you have a cyclone,it is windy, the things are blown away and instead of rain we have this fluffy white stuff which is called snow.

When the snow blocks the streets the guy who drives the plow clears off the streets for vehicles to move freely without getting stuck. The part we don’t like is all this snow is dumped at the end of our driveway, we cannot get out if we don’t clear it by shovelling or using  a snow blower.

The unfortunate part for us is we get snow dumped at the end of our driveway from two sides, which makes the work of clearing our snow harder.

From my back window I see snow on my patio and snow on my driveway. The snow at the end of the driveway is dirty because while clearing the streets the plowman also dumps the mud,plastic bags,coffee cups and other food wraps,these are thrown by people who are not interested to keep our city clean.

I can also see my neighbor’s driveway, she keeps her path clean. The trees are naked, because when the cold weather comes the leaves fall off, and grow back when it starts to be warm.

I can also see students walking to the university,it’s hard to see their faces because they are bundled up to stay warm. You can see some vehicles moving, these are delivery trucks, the private cars leave early morning for work.

This is all,there are no flowers,pretty birds or green grass visible right now, they’ll show up soon I hope!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/04/03/prompt-back-door/

33 thoughts on “DP Daily Prompt: Lookin’ Out My Back Door

  1. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 93] So near yet so far | Never A Worry

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Lookin’ Out My Back Door | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  3. Pingback: Dreary But Encouraging Day | Lisa's Kansa Muse

  4. Pingback: Not Gonna’ Happen… | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Looking Out My Back Door | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: My back yard | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Lookin’ Out My Back Door | A Mixed Bag

  8. You described it well. I don’t think I’d appreciate the pile of yucky snow and miscellaneous trash at the end of my driveway, either! I hope you see sunshine, birds and flowers soon 🙂

  9. Pingback: Looking back | Mindful Digressions

  10. Pingback: A Dialogue | Views Splash!

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Lookin’ Out My Back Door | My Atheist Blog

  12. Pingback: My Back Yard, Then and Now | A mom's blog

  13. Pingback: CCR Baby | Thinking Diagonally

  14. Pingback: Lookin’ Out My Back Door | Oh Danny Boy!

  15. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Lookin’ Out My Back Door | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.